If you like what you see and hear please leave a thank you in the comment box.

Tuesday, 5 June 2012

2007 05 26 - BBCR2 Traveling Wilburys Revisited


The super group of George Harrison, Bob Dylan, Jeff Lynne, Roy Orbison and Tom Petty made the hugely successful album Volume One in 1988. Sadly, Roy Orbison died less than a month after its release. Two years later, the remaining four made the follow-up Volume Three. Frustratingly, the Traveling Wilburys' music has been deleted for many years but in June 2007 the albums will be re-issued. This documentary celebrates the music's return and will feature rare audio from the original sessions alongside new and archive interviews with the groups members.

The five Wilbury brothers were Nelson (George Harrison), Lucky (Bob Dylan), Otis (Jeff Lynne), Lefty (Roy Orbison) and Charlie T. Junior (Tom Petty). Michael Palin wrote the fictional history of the brothers’ ancestors in the sleeve notes.

The album was written and recorded in just two weeks in Eurythmic Dave Stewart's kitchen in Los Angeles. The energy and spontaneity of the collaborative writing and recording process inspired some of the best work for many years of all the participants.

Despite speculation about who might replace Roy, just the remaining four members made the second album. However, George was now masquerading as Spike Wilbury, Dylan had assumed the name Boo, Jeff Lynne was Clayton and Tom Petty had turned into Muddy Wilbury.

This programme is presented by Bob Harris and includes new interviews with Olivia Harrison, drummer Jim Keltner, Jeff Lynne, Barbara Orbison and Tom Petty plus archive interviews with George Harrison and Roy Orbison.

1 comment: